My first wedding cake!

This was my first wedding cake! I was so excited when I was asked to do a wedding cake, and even more excited that I was going to get paid! This cake was for a peach button themed wedding. When I herd that I wasn’t sure what to expect but it turned out beautiful.

The cake took a lot of prep work, and I mean a LOT! For weeks I spent the evenings making chocolate buttons. Holy cow did I over estimate how many I needed. If you look in the photo I covered the cake, put at least 3 buttons on about 100 cupcakes AND covered the table with them. It was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed watching the kids walk past the table and sneak little buttons into their mouths.

This was a white cake with chocolate mousse filling and chocolate buttons, frosted in vanilla swiss meringue buttercream. I use this recipe for the buttercream. I LOVE IT!
edit

IMG_0906

To make the chocolate buttons I used this mold and I also borrowed a bunch of my grandmas buttons. (She has the most amazing button stash you can imagine! ) I mad my own mold and went to town. Maybe sometime I will do a tutorial. Its some pretty cool stuff. You could make anything you wanted out of chocolate.

edit2

Leave a Reply

