A Special Glasses Cake

This week we celebrated the 5 year anniversary of the Little 4 eyes site!  The Little Four Eyes community  is for parents of children in glasses, contacts, or patches. It is an awesome site! It has helped me so much since my 11 month old has been in contacts since he was 4 weeks old and in glasses since 9 months old! He was born with congenital cataracts. If you would like to learn more about his story click here.

We had a little 4 eyes play date to celebrate 5 years. At 10:00 the night before the party I decided I wanted to take a birthday cake to the party. Mostly because I had leftover cake in the freezer from my project earlier in the week, along with some swiss meringue buttercream. Yum! What to do, what to do….

Of course Make a easy glasses cake for all of us to share!

l4e 3

We met up and played like crazy with all our youngsters. It is so much fun to meet others going through the same experiences and to talk and vent with. Really, it is hard to find others who I can vent to and who understand what it is like trying to put a contact into an 11 month olds eye! All of these women are amazing and their kids are adorable.

l4e group

all table

l4eye

This cake was a 6 inch french vanilla cake filled with pastry pride and frosted in vanilla swiss meringue buttercream. Yum. I have to say, if you have not tried pastry pride you NEED to! This stuff is awesome. It is a non-dairy and tastes just like whip cream (but better). It whips up nice and fluffy and is sturdy enough to fill a cake and will not deflate if left out on the counter! Amazing stuff. Great on cakes, pies or anything you put whip cream on.

The kids enjoyed the cake!

l4e cake eating

l4e2

This is lily. She was born with a unilateral congenital cataract like my son.

l4e lily3

This is Preston. He was born with congenital glaucoma.

l4e patric 3

This is Scott my son! He was also born with a unilateral congenital cataract. He wears a contact under his glasses.

l4e scott

This is Eli. He was born with bilateral congenital cataracts.

l4eeli

This kids are just so adorable and are amazing! They go through a LOT and amaze us every day. I am so thankful for modern medicine. My son is no longer blind in one eye!

3 responses to “A Special Glasses Cake

  1. What material did you use for the glasses? My baby is turning 1 and I’m having an eyeglass themed party as my daughter loves glasses! Your cake is awesomely decorated!

Leave a Reply

