Happy Birthday to My Little Monster

I have been SO excited about doing this cake for so long. I mean REALLy, REALLY, REALLY excited!

When my son was very little I saw these monster cakes on pintrest. I knew that was what I wanted to do for my little monster’s first birthday! They are just so cute with the cake pop eyes, whoever thought of that was so smart! Well a year later and I am so pleased at how it turned out! His design changed a little since I had to put glasses on him just like my little man! 🙂 I LOVE IT! I couldn’t be any more pleased. I drew inspiration from this cake.

scott 1

Isn’t he so cute?! I used a wilton decorating tip #233. It was my first time using this tip and it was a lot of fun and not that difficult. He is a 4 layer 4inch cake. Perfect size for a first birthday!

I made his eyes, glasses, nose, mouth and horns out of modeling chocolate using this recipe. I haven’t used modeling chocolate in a long time. I forgot how much I really enjoy working with it. Its easy to handle and has such good results. I also used my favorite cake recipe.

scott3

scott5

scott 2

scott7

It was a lot of fun watching my little monster dig in. He was a little hesitant at first but then dug right in!

scott birthday 2

scott birthdy 10

scott birthday cake again!

He really enjoyed eating the eyes! 😉

scott birthday9

scott birthday5

Attack!

scott birhday 13

scott birthday cake

scott birthday8

While my monster enjoyed his cake we enjoyed this yummy 3 layer chocolate cake filled with chocolate mousse and frosted in chocolate swiss meringue buttercream! Yum!

scott cake3

I loved doing this cake! Now I need to find another cake project with fir.

scott4

I can’t believe its been a year since I did my daughters first birthday cake. It feels like its been so much longer than that. I have learned so much!

My son has taught me so much and brings so much joy into our lives!!!! I am so proud of him and all he has been through. He really is amazing. To learn more about his journey with congenital cataracts visit his blog here. I love you little monster!

18 responses to “Happy Birthday to My Little Monster

  1. Hi there – just wondering what kind of frosting you used to create the ‘hair’ (I know you’ve shared what tip you used). Am imagining consistency of frosting is very important to making this tip work – any pointers?!

  2. Thanks for your quick reply! Checked out the recipe – looks yummy (and see why it would work well for the #233 tip) but I don’t have a mixer like that (just hand held!). Would I be crazy to even attempt it without a mixer as used in the recipe?

    • My sister uses her hand mixer to make this recipe. I would only attempt it if you have enough patience though. It takes at least 10 minutes of constant mixing! Let me know if you plan on trying! I want to know how it goes.

      • Ok, good to know at least one person has successfully done the recipe with a hand mixer! Having an almost 5yr old (who’s birthday is coming up), 2.5 yr old and being 7 months pregnant will make patience tough! Any suggestions on how far in advance to make SMB and decorate the cake with the ‘hair’?

  3. If you want Im sure that a regular buttercream would work, as long as it has a higher content of butter. Something like this: http://coleensrecipes.blogspot.com/2010/11/sturdy-buttercream-frosting.html would also work nice. It says to mix it 8 minutes but It doesn’t really take that long. It would be a lot easier than the SMB. SMB will take a LOT more mixing than that.

    If you do decide to make SMB you can make it up to a month before and freeze it or a week before and keep it in the fridge. Take it out of the freezer the night before you want to use it and leave it on the counter. If you have it in the fridge take it out the morning before you want to use it. It will be okay sitting on the counter. When it gets to about room temp whip it again till its nice and fluffy and use it! I normally decorate my cakes the night before I need them. Then keep them in the fridge and pull them out a couple hours before the party. SMB is best when room temp. Let me know if you have any questions.

  4. Hi there – tried your SMB recipe (borrowed an electric mixer from a friend). I’m pretty sure it turned out as in the picture – so was relieved. However when I went to do some test icing with the #233 wilton tip it did NOT look as yours did – much thinner and would never have held up (and the strands were not as ‘separate’ as yours were?)? So have decided to use the leftover (froze the rest) for icing ‘monster’ cupcakes for my son’s party as I think that will do for messy ‘hair’ on a cupcake but the cake would have been not too attractive! Thanks for your help anyway 🙂

  5. Im so glad you were able to borrow a mixer! Im sorry to hear it didn’t turn out as you had hoped. It took me some practice to get the fir to look how I wanted it. I practiced on a plate and then wiped it off and tried over and over till I got it down. Your frosting may have been too warm. If you ever try again I would make sure its not been sitting out in the warm too long. Due to the butter in the recipe it will feel softer if its too warm and a little loose. (I hope that made sense)

    To make the fir I would push the tip into the cake and then pull out in one motion making sure to do it the same each time so that the fir would lay in the same direction. I made the fir longer and started at the bottom and moved up the cake in rows. I also poked the holes in the wilton tip a little more open with a small sharp object. The holes seemed a little “closed” to me. I don’t know if this helps at all. But my suggestion would be to try it when the frosting is not too warm and to make the holes a little wider. 🙂

  6. Came across this on Pinterest and just wanted to say this is my absolute favorite “cake smash” photo shoot ever! Your son is absolutely adorable!

  7. What kind of icing did you use? I’ve tried it with cream cheese store bought and it doesn’t hold up like yours.

  8. I love this cake 🙂 and your son is truly adorable 🙂 I am going to make a cake similar to this for my son’s first birthday and it’s the first time making one ever.. I am Alittle nervous but it looks fun. Any tips at all. Did you use the buttercream to ice the whole cake first before you did the fur? And if so did it need to go into the fridge before. And after you put the the fur on did you need to put it in the fridge before you put the molding chocolate on? And if so how long. Thanks so much!! Your really talented btw 🙂

    • I did frost the cake real quick before putting on the fir. I would practice doing the fir on a plate or something before you do it on the cake. That way you can just scrape the frosting off the plate and reuse it if you need. You do not want crumbs in your frosting because it wont go through the fir tip as well. I wouldn’t put the cake in the fridge before doing the fir. The frosting will stick better to itself when its soft. I also put the modeling chocolate on when the frosting is soft. (then you don’t have any of the tips of the fir braking off) Once its all done you can put it in the fridge. Just make sure to pull it out a couple hours before you plan on eating it. Let me know if you have any other questions. 😉

      • Thanks so much for the tips 🙂 I will be practicing for sure!! I will keep ya posted how it went 🙂

Leave a Reply

