My Favorite Easy Cake Recipe

This is almost the only cake recipe I use. I love it and only hear good about it. This is as easy as it gets for making an easy but really yummy cake that starts with a box mix. The best part. Its one recipe for any flavor. I don’t need to follow a deferent recipe each time I make a cake for someone, I just pull out the ingredients and throw it together. Normally during nap time. ANYONE can make this cake and it will always turn out fluffy, moist and great for stacking.

There is no creaming butter or special ingredients or anything like that involved. A while back when I made my batman cake I actually used a different recipe and spent a lot of time on it and after baking the whole cake decided I did not like it! Sad day. I ended up whipping this up in a couple minutes and being totally happy.

I found this recipe here, but have changed it a little and I use it for both white or chocolate cake.

cake1

• 1 Box cake mix White/ Chocolate/  Yellow or whatever you want (I always use betty crocker.) If you want an amazing vanilla cake use betty crocker french vanilla cake mix! The best and only white cake mix I use now.

• 1 cup all-purpose flour

• 1 cup granulated sugar

• Pinch salt

• 1 1/3 cups water

• 3 Whole Eggs for chocolate cake or 4 egg whites for white cake (the yolks turn the batter yellow)

• 2 Tbs vegetable oil

• 1 cup sour cream

• 1 tsp vanilla extract (use clear vanilla In your white cakes if you want to keep your cake really white!)

• For my chocolate cake I also add a little extra coco powder about 2 or 3 tbs

Start by dumping all the dry ingredients into your bowl.

cake2

Then mix it a little.

cake3

My son sat and watched while I handed him things to play with.

cake scott

Then add the remaining ingredients.

cake4

Mix slowly for a couple seconds and then turn up to medium high and beat for a couple minutes.

cake5

Grease and flour your pans. Here I used 3 8 inch pans.

cake6

Bake at 350 about 25 minutes. Truthfully I would watch your cake. I have a very weird oven that I have figured out but yours will probably be different. I bake in pans ranging from 1 inch to 10 inch so I just check my cakes a lot. Times are always different.

cake7

cake claire thought

Pull the cake out of the oven and cool for a couple minutes on a cooling rack. I always rap my cakes un seran wrap while still warm/hot and freeze. I always bake at least a day before, up to a month early and freeze. Wrapping your cakes while warm will help trap all that moisture in with your cake.

They day you want to decorate your cake just take it straight from the freezer and have fun frosting it. 😉 Works every time!

cake8

I use this for all my cakes and love the results. If you make this cake it will not disappoint. Today it turned into a 3 layer chocolate cake filled with chocolate mousse and frosted in chocolate swiss meringue buttercream. A fast easy cake to go along with my sons monster cake for his first birthday. (I can’t wait to post pictures, It turned out awesome!) The adults needed something extra yummy to eat and boy was it good!

scott cake2

21 responses to “My Favorite Easy Cake Recipe

  1. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe! I hope you don’t mind if I pin it so I’ll be able to easily find it next time I’m ready to make a cake 🙂

    P.S. You have a BEAUTIFUL blog! I love it!

  2. does it affect the icing when you ice the cake while it is still frozen once the cake thaws under the icing?

  3. Looks great! Can’t wait to try it. I was wondering… Did you use one box to make all three layers? I’m wondering how much thicker the cake gets? Thanks for the help!

  4. I made your recipe for chocolate cake and it so good. I paired it with a chocolate pudding buttercream and white chocolate pudding buttercream filling. I tasted the scraps after I leveled it and it was so moist and loved the chocolate flavor…..I will always use this recipe!!! I was wondering you said you use a French Vanilla Betty Crocker Cake mix, Betty Crocker has a Golden Vanilla also….what’s the difference? Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!!
    ~Nicole

    • I like the flavor of the french vanilla best and its a nice white cake too. the golden vanilla is more yellow and not as much vanilla flavor. 😉

  5. Made your cake for my daughters birthday. Just wondering how long it takes for the cake to completely thaw. We are having guests over early evening and wondering if I should ice the morning of or night before. I am using a cream cheese/butter/sugar frosting. Any thoughts? Thanks!!!

    • Im sure it can be doubled. I never have because I never can bake that much cake all at once and its not the best to let sit around in your bowl while baking. It can sit for awhile but too long the texture of your cake might be a little weird. I always mix up a batch, bake it then mix up the next batch and bake it. One batch makes quite a bit of cake since you add extra flower and such. 😉 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

