Happy birthday To Me and Oatmeal Cake

It was a great week! I turned 25 and celebrated with my family by going out to thai food (my favorite). My husband even helped me make a cake! Which is pretty awesome. I think he mostly helped because he wanted to eat his favorite cake (which happens to be my favorite cake also)!

I was introduced to this cake on my husband’s birthday the first year we were married. And every year since I think we have had it  for both our birthdays! It is that amazing! We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this cake! Thank you my love for the help and for the cake!

birthday cake

birthday cake meOatmeal Cake with Coconut Pecan Topping
Recipe can also be found on For the Love of Cooking (not sure where my mother in law found the recipe)

  • 1/2 cup quick cook oatmeal
  • 3/4 cups boiling water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup of shortening

Mix oatmeal with the boiling water, stir and cover. Mix the remaining ingredients together then stir in the oatmeal. Grease and flour a 8 inch pan. Pour batter into the pan and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. Remember my oven cooks hot!

Coconut Pecan Frosting

  • 3 tbsp melted butter
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Combine all ingredients and spread over the top of the cake. This looks so good, but you have to wait a little longer! Put your cake under broil for a minute and let the frosting brown. Watch carefully and make sure you don’t burn it, It happens FAST. That would be horrible! ;( Let cool and enjoy! You will never want another cake in your life! 😉

Other updates:

ON my birthday I reached over 1,000 views on my blog! YAY! Thank you everyone. Pretty exciting considering its only been up 2 months!

And….

Life has been crazy in our house. No other cakes lately because my littlest baker went in for a exam under anesthesia. He was so strong and amazing! I am so proud of this little boy! His eyes look great too! We got a new prescription for his contact and glasses and no glaucoma! YAY!

IMG_2613

I’ve also been CRAZY busy working on another project which also involves my little man! I have been designing a line of t-shirts for young children who wear glasses, patches, contacts or have visual impairments. Its been so much fun.  We will be putting our project up on kickstarter VERY soon! I am SOOOOOOOOO excited.

If you would like to learn more visit our facebook page here. or visit my son’s blog here.

This is our “my glasses give me super powers” shirt!

scott super hero

And our “yes my glasses are real shirt.” Aren’t these two cute?! Both were born with a congenital cataract!

patch friends

And just because I can here is my cutie patching…scott patching today

Leave a Reply

